SEOUL, May 10, 2017 - AIPS Europe kicked off the elective nature of the 80th AIPS Congress on Wednesday, by voting in its new Executive Committee.



Former Secretary General Charles Camenzuli, running unopposed, was elected as the new president of the European faction of AIPS, while 11 more Executive positions were filled, including those of Secretary General and Treasurer.


President of the Serbian Sports Press Association Predrag Milinkovic was elected as the new Secretary General, taking the former position of the president, while Turkey’s Murat Agca was reelected as Treasurer for what will be his third mandate.


The newly elected Executive Committee of AIPS Europe consists of:

President: Charles Camenzuli (Malta)

General Secretary: Predrag Milinkovic (Serbia)

Treasurer: Murat Agca (Turkiye)


Members: Gianfranco Coppola (Italy), Michalis Gavrirlides (Cyprus), Dumitru Graur (Romania), Nastassia Marynina (Belarus), Lev Rossoshik (Russia), Michael Schuen (Austria), Gyorgy Szollosi (Hungary), Marc Ventouillac (France) and Sotiris Triantafyllou (Greece).


Following elections at the 2014 AIPS Congress in Baku, AIPS Europe had agreed to shorten the mandate of its Executive Committee to three years instead of four, in order to align its elective year with that of the global body of AIPS.


Malta’s Charles Camenzuli, who takes the place of Yiannis Daras, Greece as the new president of AIPS Europe confirmed that the newly elected EC was ready for the challenges of the next four years.


- I think we have a very good team that will work to defend the rights of European journalists in a difficult moment for the profession. The petition to the EU regarding journalists’ right to access to sources is something that will be pushed even more in the next four years - Camenzuli said.


by Sonja Nikcevic, AIPS Media