LAUSANNE, January 15, 2020 - Following an intriguing process that began with accepting submissions on April 16, 2019, the second edition of the AIPS Sport Media Awards has been immense in quality, impact and universality, and today, AIPS is proud and honored to announce the Top 3 finalists in each of the Awards’ main categories.
AIPS Awards 2019 received a record participation of 1746 submissions from 125 countries around the globe, 37% more than in the opening edition. In submitting their work for consideration for the 11 categories, including Young Reporter Under 30, colleagues from across the globe engaged in a dialogue of sporting excellence. Such dialogue is crucial in highlighting the importance of sport media and the need to invest in its culture and independence.
The twelve members of the jury, plus the president, will meet in Budapest on February 2 to determine the winners. Each eligible award consists of an original trophy and prize money of USD 8,000 for the winner; second placed will receive USD 3,000 and third placed USD 2,000.
Winners of the Young Reporter U30 categories (Photography, Writing and Broadcasting) will be revealed on the night of the awards ceremony, and will receive a scholarship to a major international sports event. 
THE JOURNEY From 1746 submissions to the final three in each category, the journey included hours of dedication and deliberation from the 24-member AIPS Executive Committee and the international 12-member AIPS Sport Media Awards jury. The 160 member associations of AIPS were called on for their expertise and knowledge of local languages and media landscapes as a first step. Every submission of the AIPS Awards was judged by a native speaker on the way to the next phase.
THE CEREMONY The second edition of the AIPS Sport Media Awards will come to a highly anticipated climax on February 3 at the Corinthia Hotel in Budapest, Hungary, and the Top 3 finalists, which represent the height of sports storytelling in all its forms, will be invited to attend the awards ceremony.
Based on voting from the 12-member AIPS Sport Media Awards jury, the Top 3 finalists of the AIPS Sport Media Awards, in alphabetical order by surname, are:
Ronny Blaschke (Germany), Football women - Critical voices of a minority – Deutschlandfunk Kultur
Bob Hohler (USA), Gladiator: Aaron Hernandez and football Inc. - Boston Globe
Tracey Holmes (Australia), The Ticket: The Horton v Sun Affair - is Sun Yang a Drug Cheat? - ABC
Matthew Allen (USA), Birthright: becoming Toby Dawson - NBC Sports Group
Claus Frederiksen (Denmark), The gold Jacket - From Struer to Hall of Fame - Nordisk Film Cinemas, TV 2 sport Denmark
Ben Unger (Germany), Pelé from Neubrandenburg - NDR TV 
John Felling (USA), 1968 Roundtable- NBC Sports Network
Stan Grant (Australia), The Australian dream - Lorton Entertainment  
Stuart Pollitt (United Kingdom), The Kennedy who changed the world - BBC
Marissa Boyajian (USA), Hope: The Gabe Grunewald story - NBC Sports
Andrew Leibman (USA), Sign at all times: A film about Brian Estrada - Leibman Production
Basile Roze (France), Legends live on: Matthias Steiner - Olympic Channel    
Zahra Aliee (Iran), A story of the women's historical day in the forbidden place "Azadi" -
Jeremy Wilson (United Kingdom), France rocked by the tragic cost of rugby's safety crisis, The Daily Telegraph
Suzanne Wrack (United Kingdom), ‘There was blood everywhere’: the abuse case against the Afghan FA president - The Guardian
Carlos Matallanas (Spain), Letter to Rafael Nadal - AS
Prajwal Oli (Nepal), Nepal barely plays 50 different sports, but hosts nearly 200 sports associations - The Kathmandu Post, Nepal
Sebastian Ignacio Torok (Argentina), The notebooks of tennis: Marco Trungelliti, the Argentine who challenged the mafia that fixes matches - Diario La Nacion de Argentina
Sergey Kivrin (Russia), Nomad Games. Gedebey, Azerbaijan - Azerbaijan Airlines Magazine
Adam Pretty (Australia), Infinite trails - Getty Images
Roman Vondrouš (Czech Republic), Horse racing - Czech News Agency
Juan Arboleda (Colombia), You set the limits - AFP
Ganbat Chuluunbaatar (Mongolia), Before a catch! - Mongolian Sports Press Union
Zhuang Wu (China), Chinese boxer Xu Can – Xinhua
AIPS Media